Smart home devices: six listings compared on published specifications
Six smart home devices listings, listed between $9.02 and $49.99, compared on the figures each retailer actually publishes: price, rating and rating count. Nothing here was tested first-hand, and the top pick is the listing that states the most specifications.
Advertising disclosure. This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, GadgetVerdict may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, GadgetVerdict earns from qualifying purchases. GadgetVerdict also participates in the AliExpress affiliate programme.
Commission never decides which products appear here, and no placement on this page is paid for. Selection is described in full under How these picks were selected. See our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.
Most specs published
Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet Works with Alexa, Google Home, No Hub Required, UL Cer
Named top pick for one stated reason: of the six products on this page, its listing publishes the most specification figures in writing. That is a transparency judgement about the listing, not a quality judgement about the product.
All figures above are manufacturer-stated, reproduced from the retailer listing without modification. Any figure the listing does not state is recorded as not stated in this listing.
Link below opens the product page on this site, which then links out to the retailer. That outbound link is an affiliate link.
See Details for the Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet Works with Alexa, Google Home, No Hub Required, UL Cer, on this siteWhat the listings actually tell you about smart home devices
Choosing smart home devices comes down to a single question: does the listing publish enough to judge the product before it arrives? This page takes six listings from the GadgetVerdict smart home devices shelf and compares only what each retailer states in writing. Where a figure is missing, that absence is recorded rather than filled in.
Four points decide most smart home kit purchases, and each is drawn from published guidance rather than from opinion:
- Idle power is where connected devices spend their lives. ENERGY STAR states that certified computers save 30 to 40 percent largely by managing energy when idle, and the same logic applies to anything left plugged in.
- Standby limits are defined numbers where certification exists. ENERGY STAR requires certified televisions to draw 0.5 watts or less in sleep mode, which is the sort of figure worth looking for.
- Connectivity requirements are published or they are missing. Hub dependence, app requirements and protocol support are stated in the listing or recorded here as not stated.
- Devices with cells inside carry the same disposal problem as any battery. EPA states that most lithium-ion batteries are treated as hazardous waste because they may catch fire or explode.
None of those points can be settled by a product photograph, which is why the comparison below stays with stated figures.
How the six listings compare
Of the six listings on this page, six publish a current price, four publish a previous price, and six publish a product rating. That spread is the comparison: a listing that states more can be checked more.
On that count, Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet Works with Alexa, Google Home, No Hub Required, UL Cer publishes the most — 5 of the five figures tracked here. That is a transparency judgement about the listing and not a quality judgement about the product, and it is the only reason it is named top pick.
The table reproduces every figure exactly as the retailer published it. Blank cells are marked rather than estimated, and prices change without notice, so the retailer page remains the authority at the time of purchase.
All figures are manufacturer-stated and reproduced from the retailer listing without modification. Prices change without notice; the retailer page is the authority at the time of purchase.
Which listing suits which household
There is no single right answer for every home. Before ordering, households generally need to settle four things:
- Whether a hub or subscription is required and stated.
- Whether the protocol — Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee — is named.
- Whether standby power is published anywhere in the listing.
- Whether the device still functions if the service is discontinued.
Three of the six listings on this page are stocked on Amazon and three on AliExpress. The split is not a ranking — it reflects where each listing is sold, and both groups were assessed by the same measure.
The lowest listed price on the page belongs to MIJIA Electronic Thermometer and Hygrometer 3mini Mijia Home Bedroom Smart Detection Meter Humidity Meter Ther at $9.02. A lower price is a fact about the listing, not evidence that it suits a particular animal.
The largest published rating count belongs to Amazon Echo Dot (newest model) - Vibrant sounding speaker, Designed for Alexa+, Great for bedrooms, dining roo, with 195,023 ratings recorded on the listing. That figure reflects other buyers' experience with their own animals, and no assessment of it was carried out here.
How these picks were selected
Selection starts from the topic and only then looks at what is available. Every product listed here matches the stated topic and is stocked by this site in that category; a listing that does not match is dropped rather than substituted for something close enough. When nothing matches, the page stays a reference page and lists no products at all.
Named top pick for one stated reason: of the six products on this page, its listing publishes the most specification figures in writing. That is a transparency judgement about the listing, not a quality judgement about the product.
Commission rates play no part in the order or the selection, and no manufacturer or retailer has paid for a placement here. No listening test, measurement or first-hand assessment stands behind any ranking on this page.
Figures are reproduced from the retailer listing or the manufacturer specification sheet exactly as published. Where a listing does not state a figure, this page records that it is not stated in this listing rather than borrowing a number from another source. Product images are shown unmodified.
Sources are linked in full at the foot of this page so each claim can be checked rather than trusted. This page is regenerated whenever its source listings change, and the date at the top reflects that regeneration.
Selected options
Each link below opens that product's page on this site, which links out to the retailer. Those outbound links are affiliate links, as set out at the top of this page.
shopping_cart Available on Amazon
Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet Works with Alexa, Google Home, No Hub Required, UL Cer
Listed at $13.96, down from $16.99 as stated, rated 4.5 / 5 on the listing, across 40,464 ratings, flagged a best seller by the retailer. Sold on Amazon; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet Works with Alexa, Google Home, No Hub Required, UL Cer
Etekcity Smart Scale for Body Weight, FSA&HSA Eligible, Bathroom Digital Weighing Scale with BMI, Body Fat, Mu
Listed at $23.25, rated 4.7 / 5 on the listing, across 139,875 ratings, flagged a best seller by the retailer. Sold on Amazon; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the Etekcity Smart Scale for Body Weight, FSA&HSA Eligible, Bathroom Digital Weighing Scale with BMI, Body Fat, Mu
Amazon Echo Dot (newest model) - Vibrant sounding speaker, Designed for Alexa+, Great for bedrooms, dining roo
Listed at $49.99, rated 4.7 / 5 on the listing, across 195,023 ratings, flagged a best seller by the retailer. Sold on Amazon; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the Amazon Echo Dot (newest model) - Vibrant sounding speaker, Designed for Alexa+, Great for bedrooms, dining roolocal_mall Available on AliExpress
XSDTS With Tuya Biometric Fingerprint Smart Door Lock Electronic Lock Keyless Security Door Entry Home House
Listed at $36.76, down from $78.22 as stated, rated 4.9 / 5 on the listing, across 249 ratings. Sold on AliExpress; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the XSDTS With Tuya Biometric Fingerprint Smart Door Lock Electronic Lock Keyless Security Door Entry Home House
MIJIA Electronic Thermometer and Hygrometer 3mini Mijia Home Bedroom Smart Detection Meter Humidity Meter Ther
Listed at $9.02, down from $18.05 as stated, rated 4.9 / 5 on the listing, across 760 ratings. Sold on AliExpress; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the MIJIA Electronic Thermometer and Hygrometer 3mini Mijia Home Bedroom Smart Detection Meter Humidity Meter Ther
White Touchless 15L Smart Sensor Trash Can – Electronic Bathroom Garbage Bin with Automatic Bagging, Smart Hom
Listed at $24.53, down from $57.17 as stated, rated 4.7 / 5 on the listing, across 2,736 ratings. Sold on AliExpress; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the White Touchless 15L Smart Sensor Trash Can – Electronic Bathroom Garbage Bin with Automatic Bagging, Smart HomFrequently asked questions
Do smart devices waste power on standby? expand_more
They draw power continuously by design. ENERGY STAR's certified categories publish sleep-mode limits such as 0.5 watts, which is the comparable figure to look for.
Does this need a hub or an account? expand_more
Only the listing can answer that, and where it is silent this page records that the requirement was not stated rather than assuming there is none.
Were these devices installed and tested here? expand_more
No. Every specification and rating figure is manufacturer-stated and reproduced from the retailer listing; nothing here was set up by anyone.
What happens when the manufacturer stops supporting it? expand_more
That is not stated in most listings, and it is not something this page can verify; EPA's electronics recycling guidance is what applies once a device is finished.
How was the top pick on this page chosen? expand_more
By counting how many specification figures each listing publishes in writing. Kasa Smart Plug Ultra Mini 15A, Smart Home Wi-Fi Outlet Works with Alexa, Google Home, No Hub Required, UL Cer publishes the most of the six, so it is named top pick. Commission rates play no part in the order or the selection, and no placement on this page was paid for.
Related reading
Sources
- link ENERGY STAR — States that certified computers use about 30 to 40 percent less energy than standard models, largely by managing power when idle, with the display sleeping after 15 minutes of inactivity.
- link ENERGY STAR — States that certified monitors are on average about 7 percent more efficient than standard models, and that certified signage displays must draw 0.5 watts or less in sleep and off modes.
- link ENERGY STAR — States that certified televisions are on average about 34 percent more efficient than conventional models across sleep, idle and on modes, and must draw 0.5 watts or less in sleep mode.
- link US Environmental Protection Agency — States that most lithium-ion batteries are treated as hazardous waste because they can catch fire or explode if mishandled, and that fires at end of life are common when they reach household bins.